Core Curriculum

Upper Elementary 3 - 5 Lessons


Reading and Comprehension Skills
Vocabulary Skills
Grammar and Usage Skills
Parts of Speech: Pronouns...A pronoun can replace a noun or another pronoun. Pronouns make sentences easier to understand. Pronouns are classified into several types. They include the personal pronoun, the demonstrative pronoun, the interrogative pronoun, the indefinite pronoun, the relative pronoun, the reflexive pronoun, and the intensive pronoun. A personal pronoun refers to a specific thing, place, or person. It changes its form to show number, gender, case, and person. Person refers to first, second, or third person. A subjective personal pronoun shows that it is acting as the subject of the sentence. Types of subject pronouns include: “I,” “we,” “you,” “he,” “she,” “it,” they.” Objective or object personal pronouns act as an object of the verb, compound verb, preposition, or infinitive phrase. Types of object pronouns include: “me,” “you,” “her,” “him,” “it,” “us,” “you,” “them.” A personal possessive pronoun indicates that the pronoun is acting as the “owner” of the possession. It defines who owns a particular object or person. The personal possessive pronouns are: “mine,” “yours,” “hers,” “its,” “ours,” “theirs.” A demonstrative pronoun points to and identifies a noun or a pronoun. "This" and "these" refer to things that are nearby either in space or in time, while "that" and "those" refer to things that are farther away in space or time. An interrogative pronoun asks questions. The interrogative pronouns are "who," "whom," "which," "what."
Written and Oral Language Conventions
Study Skills, Research, and Reference Skills